Skip to content

Things we got wrong

Comments

• elminsterelminster Member, Developer Posts: 16,315
    edited October 2013
    I started playing the game when I was probably like 10 or so. Anyways, for the longest time I couldn't beat Sarevok. My brothers could but I never watched them actually do it. How do you beat this guy? I wondered. I'd fight him in melee and lose horribly. I'd cast magic missile at him (keep in mind this was the pre-TOTSC Baldur's Gate so it was before he was nerfed and he had like 90-100% magic resistance) and they did nothing!

Anyways, I'm not sure when I first beat him but it would have been a glorious feeling I'm sure :D
    JuliusBorisov
  • ArcalianArcalian Member Posts: 359

pixie359 said:

I didn't realise for ages that you could scroll down the thief skills when leveling up, so my top for skills all had 200 plus, while the rest had none.

What?!

There are more than four skills? :O

I genuinely did not know this. I need to go check this for myself RIGHT NOW.
    It did take me....several years of playing the game to figure that out, too.

• ZanathKariashiZanathKariashi Member Posts: 2,869
    edited October 2013
    I admit, I made the common noob mistake of using direct damage and healing spells. They aren't useless mind, but sometimes another spell of that level can do the job INFINITELY better...or you could just load up on wands for all your DD needs and use slots on spells you don't have wands for.

Thankfully, you couldn't erase spells in BG1 or BG2:SoA, so I learned early on that casting the spells from scrolls is MUCH more useful then erase/re-scribe cheese, and NOT to learn spells unless you're sure you'll actually use it. It's a tempting option, to be sure, but it burned me often enough I decided it wasn't worth it in the long run, vs having another cast of a spell available.