Skip to content

Complete newcomer

FinitevusFinitevus Member Posts: 7
edited November 2013 in New Players (NO SPOILERS!)
Hello everyone

I have been a fan of rpg games for a very long time, but to my everlasting shame I have never had the chance nor time to dabble in Dungeons and Dragons. I picked up Baldurs Gate on steam very recently, since I heard so many good things about the game and that it was based off of DD.

I just started playing it yesterday, and as you may have guessed some things have me somewhat flummoxed. I should add I sort of jumped into this head first, without reading many(any) guides or FAQ's.

I made my hero a swashbuckler, and put a point into duel wielding since the classes pro's mentioned it, and it sounded like a fun way to play a glass canon thief. However, I cant actually find out how to make him have two daggers at once? I notice theres two slots for weapons on the inventory screen, but they appear to just be and on hand and offhand weapon...

In addition, I have no idea how experience works. After four hours, my partys druid received a single level up, and no one else has. Does landing the last blow mean you get more exp? My main character has been forced to stay far out of trouble, since he hits so low and only has 6 HP....

Any tips for leveling a swashbuckling thief?

Comments

• CorvinoCorvino Member Posts: 2,269
    edited November 2013
    Hello there! You've not chosen the easiest class to start with, really. Swashbucklers are a bit slow to actually start swashing any buckles. NB - to equip an offhand weapon, place it in the shield slot (on the middle right of the character paperdoll on the Inventory screen).

In 2nd Edition D&D (which is the ruleset used in Baldur's Gate) thieves are quite different to their more modern incarnations. They're less glass-cannon damage dealers than out-of-combat utility characters. Swashbucklers are better in combat, but take quite a few levels to get going.