Skip to content

Question about gameplay

I would first like to state that I am very new to Baldur's Gate and DnD in general (still getting used to the basics of armor and such) and I have a few questions. I have noticed (this is probably true for DnD in general) that instagibbing is a problem. Right now my party is a Level 3 Sorcerer; Level 3 Khalid and Jaheira; Level 3 Imoen; Level 3 Rassad; and a level 3 Minsc. Now I realize this is not really high but instant death is pretty annoying. My Khalid has a armor rating (I forked over the money for a Plate Mail) of 0 and gets instagibbed by Bears and small packs of ranged units. This results in me "save scumming" and resting nonstop. It almost feels like I am making no progress at all.

I have gotten advice to use Ajantis in place of Khalid and when I rescue Dynahier to replace both Khalid and Jaheira and then replace Rassad with Yeslick. With my ending party of a Sorcerer, Paladin, Thief, 2h Warrior, Clerk, and Invoker.

My questions are; Do you think this is a good plan for a party that is balanced and can go to BG2? Is instant gibbing just a part of life or does anyone have any tips on combat?

Comments

• MitchforkMitchfork Member Posts: 390
    First off I gotta make sure- check your difficulty slider in the options menu. If you've got it turned up, enemies will do way more damage. Make sure it's on Core or Normal for an easier experience.