Skip to content

Minimum investment for an effective Scout? Fighter/Thief

Hi Guys,

For BG:EE, I am using a Dwarven Fighter/Thief main and distributing my points into Lockpicking/Detect Traps. I am very much interested in also Scouting ahead to prepare for the next battle - rather than face-pulling and trying to CC last second.

I am not very experienced with thieves, and this is my first "full playthrough." My question is what sort of minimums am I looking at to be a relatively useful Scout? How many points minimum can I get away with for HIde in Shadows, Move Silently? Currently I am at 91 Lockpicking and like 44 Detect Traps I think.

I am not interested in recruiting another thief.

For right now I have installed every component of SCS, and am going to try to finish my first playthrough with 5/6 party members. After which, I am very excited to perhaps try my hand at some no-reload games. I know I am going to fail miserably, not a clue where traps are located, but it doesn't even matter! It's still more exciting than thinking about a reload!

Best twenty bucks I ever spent.

Comments

• JuliusBorisovJuliusBorisov Member, Administrator, Moderator, Developer Posts: 22,724
    One thief is enough:)

If you're going to export your char into BG2, you should consifer that there're rings in BG2 available not far into the game that give +25% to Find/Disarm Traps and +25% to Open Locks. So, don't waste points and don't put more than 75 into both these skills. Before you acquire these rings, you can use potions of master thievery to open locks and potions of power to disarm traps. There're many of these potions in the game.

If you're going to play only BG1, 75 into both Find/Disarm Traps and Open Locks would be enough - you can gulp a potion when needed.

I see you have 91 Lockpicking, so that's enough, while I would increase 44 Detect Traps up to 75.