Skip to content

Neera or Nalia?

Hello, I'm looking for some advice.

I'm playing through BG 2: EE (I played through BG2 multiple times before, this is my first time playing the EE.)

Here is my party:

CHARNAME (Inquisitor)
Minsc
Jaheira
Anomen
Neera
Yoshimo/Imoen

I'm currently early in Chapter 2. I will swap out Yoshimo for Imoen later on. Playing Jahiera romance. Not interested in having Edwin or Jan in the party.

My question is whether I should drop Neera for Nalia for one of the mage slots.

Neera is annoying. I don't trust her. I get the feeling she's going to ditch the party at an inopportune time. I get the feeling her wild magic will do something bad during a tough fight. I'm not particularly enamored of the wild mage class in and of itself.

I've never played through with Nalia before. Not interested in using her as a partial thief, only as a mage.

1. Is Nalia equally annoying as Neera?
2. Mechanics-wise, is Neera superior because she is a pure mage, or ultimately does it not matter? (In other words, can I play through ToB just as well with Nalia in the party instead of Neera?)
3. Are my fears about Neera overblown?
4. Anything else I should consider but maybe I'm missing?

Thanks in advance!

Comments

• jankieljankiel Member Posts: 127
    1. Neera is nowhere as annyoing as Nalia. Also I like Neera's side quest.
    2. I found Neera to be much better but then again I am a wild mage lover.
    3. Yep
  • SharGuidesMyHandSharGuidesMyHand Member Posts: 2,580
    Between the two, I much prefer Nalia - she's much more reliable, has better stats, and gets some extra weapon and even armor choices because of her inactive thief class.

If you plan to use Nalia solely as a mage, she's basically as powerful as any mage in the game. Even so, her thieving skills can still be useful if you're in a pinch, though you would need an item or potion to increase them first.

Both characters are each associated with a very good sidequest.