Skip to content

Weapon Choice

(I apologize in advance if this is posted in the wrong category, please correct me if that is the case)
I just created a Shadowdancer, and I was wondering if there is any advantage to using a dagger over a short sword or any other weapon. The question isn't really more complicated than that, I just want to know if I should settle for a decent dagger or grab a (potentially much more powerful) different weapon. Keep in mind that while I understand D&D really well, I'm new to BG2. Thanks.

Comments

• SionIVSionIV Member Posts: 2,689
    Short swords aren't really worth it unless you want to use them for RP purposes.

Dagger is the weakest proficiency class in the game, yet they have the most powerful weapon (BG1) but the question is if it's worth it just for that one weapon.

When you backstab you take the weapon damage into consideration, so if you use a longsword (1d8) you'll deal more damage than with a short sword (1d6) or even a dagger (1d4).
  • AkmenosAkmenos Member Posts: 2
    Thanks, that helps. A dagger is great for RPing, but the damage is awful even with a backstab multiplier. Is there a decent dagger in SoA?
    Akmenos said:

Thanks, that helps. A dagger is great for RPing, but the damage is awful even with a backstab multiplier. Is there a decent dagger in SoA?

There are no decent normal daggers in SoA, but there are a few great throwing daggers. The throwing daggers in BG2 use the bastard sword damage (2d4) so they are very powerful, and you can get a good one very early and then you can upgrade it to a better one a little bit further ahead.

You shouldn't pick daggers in SoA for melee, you should pick them as a ranged weapon.

Akmenos
  • DreadKhanDreadKhan Member Posts: 3,857