Skip to content

New run, two very different experimental options... advice?

Hi. I am a BG series vet who has played through the original series many times. I also ran through the EEs once. With the latest BG2 patch, I am now getting ready for another run, and I am trying to decide between two very different, somewhat experimental options for a class, and I would love to get folks’ opinions about both of them (and which you personally might enjoy playing more). While I may get folks accusing me of cheese, that is not my goal -- I just want something different.
I should note I will likely play with SCS and will have a party of 4 (including CHARNAME).

Option one: a modified Avenger – a true shifter.
I always enjoyed the shape shifting druid in the original Neverwinter Nights—a true shifter with literally dozens of super cool shifting options. While I like the Avenger in theory, it bores me to think that you get all your shapes at one time (is it level 7?) and while the shapes upgrade modestly when porting over to BG2, essentially the shapes are the same for the entire game. The elemental forms are great but vanilla druids get them as well, so really they don’t add anything special to the Avenger.

I like the idea of adding via EEKeeper additional shapes. I have experimented and this can be done using the innate spells as long as the shapes are possible through the mage shifting spells (as those shapes become innate abilities). Thus I would add the mage’s polymorph self forms (Gnoll, Mustard Jelly, Ogre) – probably late in BG – level 9? Once per day each form. I tried and this works.