Skip to content

Feeling very stuck

I've heard a lot of great things about Baldur's Gate and decided to get it from the App Store. I'm on a Mac OS 10.10 and I'm very new to the series. I'm ashamed to admit I'm trying to find a God mod or something similar because I can't get anywhere without dying at least 3 times. Can I have some advice on how to really get playing effectively? I've just set up a new character, a human but haven't done anything. I understand about quests and stuff and ran through the tutorial but I'm still rather above my head

Comments

• SertoriusSertorius Member Posts: 172
    edited July 2015
    A little more info is needed here. You race is human, but what is your class, stats, weapon proficiencies and spells if applicable.

As a new player, the fighter class is probably the easiest class to play at low levels.

There is also the option to enable the console, which allows cheats if that is the way for you. Here is a link describing what needs to be done http://forums.beamdog.com/discussion/16320/mac-faq/p1
  • Meri20098Meri20098 Member Posts: 31
    Thank you so much everyone! I have another question along the same lines. I don't understand the leveling process. I can click level up but I can't distribute skill points. Is there a guide to getting started somewhere that I can take a look at, not that I don't love and appreciate the advice but so I can get a better understanding without always having to ask questions
  • abacusabacus Member Posts: 1,307
    Some classes don't have much interaction at level up, they just get a fixed increase in basic skills and hit points... fighters, for instance just get better at hitting things and better at getting hit. Spell casters get access to new spell-slots through their spellbook. Thieves are probably the most involved levelling process, as they have to allocate skill points each time.

The manual contains some good stuff to know, and is available at: