Skip to content

Timer on Edwin's quest? (spoiler)

Note: this is my first time with Edwin in the party and I haven't progressed the quest yet beyond what I describe, so please be careful to not spoil the plot.

My question is this (spoiler warning for those who didn't take Edwin at all ever):

I took Edwin in my party for the first time and found out his quest starts when entering the Graveyard districts and he talks about wanting to get the Nether scroll. I advanced up to the point where it turns out you have to fight a Lich to continue the quest (I tried talking and the Lich stayed non-hostile, but then Edwin interfered and I had to fight anyway). But for the easy Lich in the Underdark and a lucky hit once when conquering Daystar I have never defeated a Lich in BG2 and feel really intimidated by it.

What I did, is reload to a save before his quest triggered and I wanted to avoid the Graveyard, so as not to start a timer on Edwin's quest, as I fear I might lose him if I take the quest so I planned to only get to the Graveyard when I return from Spellhold. But now I'm about to start chapter 3 and want to try taking Bodhi's side (which I have also never done), but that means entering the Graveyard and that means Edwin's quest will trigger.

So will it be possible to enter the Graveyard (so Edwin's quest will trigger), do quests for Bodhi, get to Spellhold and only afterwards finish Edwin's quest or will that turn of events make Edwin impatient and leave?

I ask to refrain from spoiling me about how Edwin's plot unravels, just tell if it's safe to wait for that long.

Comments

• TressetTresset Member, Moderator Posts: 8,262
    There is a timer that will start once you enter the graveyard. I don't think Edwin leaves if you ignore his quest, but I am not 100% sure. He does complain about not doing it, but I don't think he leaves.