Skip to content

Just a few questions/opinions wanted.

I'm not really new to the forums. Though I am still new in that I've still never completed BG1 (Darn restartitis!).

I keep changing my mind on what class I want to play for my first playthrough. I keep jumping between a Ranger, a Totemic Druid, a Fighter/Druid, or a Kensai who later dual-classes into a Druid. Right now I'm leaning towards Totemic Druid because I feel like it reflects my personality the most. But one of my biggest concerns about the Totemic Druid is I want at least some front-line survivability. I know I'd never excel on the front-line. But is it plausible I'd be able to survive there okay if I equip Ankheg armor? My stats are:

17 Str
17 Dex
15 Con
11 Int
15 Wis
15 Cha

I have a little meta-gaming knowledge so my thought was to end BG1 with:

18 Str
18 Dex
16 Con
12 Int
18 Wis
16 Cha

due to the Tomes.

FYI I don't naturally "roll" my character(s). I just Ctrl+8 and then subtract to what I want. Not too much shame in that, right? =*(

Two other questions I have.

1) Please correct me if I'm wrong, but it's my understanding that if you are a Fighter/Druid that the game "treats" you like a fighter. A.K.A. NPCs address you as if you are a Fighter, Druid NPCs won't recognize you as a fellow Druid, you can only get the de'Arnise Keep stronghold in BG2 and not the Druid Grove even though you are a Fighter/"Druid", etc. Is this the case?

2) Is there any way to recharge wands and items with charges? Or are they meant to be just "use it till it's gone" items?

Comments

• joluvjoluv Member Posts: 2,137
    edited December 2015
    Yeah, you'll be able to survive, especially once you get Stoneskins Iron Skins. Keep in mind that you'll only be able to equip bucklers, so you may want to equip items that improve your AC vs. missile and/or piercing damage.

1) An F/D can have either the Fighter or the Druid stronghold, but not both. Not sure about class-specific dialog.