Skip to content

How to play bards right?

BelegCuthalionBelegCuthalion Member, Mobile Tester Posts: 453
I'm a BG veteran, but i think despite being interested a lot in the class, i have only played a bard once a long time ago as main character, and i think not very effective or to her potential ... Currently i'm playing an evil group with Eldoth, but again i'm not sure i'm using him right, not even singing seems to work as i'd expect ...

So acting as if i'm a total noob – could anyone tell me how to use bards with songs and all in BG1 (but also going on into BG2 and ToB)? Eldoth primarily, but any other bard flavour alike as i'd like to make a run with a Bard sooner or later ... singing, spells, fighting – how do you do it as a bard?

Bonus question: how do bards in IWD differ besides there more effective songs there? Somehow my impression is i can use them well in IWD, but not in BG.

Comments

• dockaboomskidockaboomski Member Posts: 440
    Although I love Eldoth, the problem isn't so much his class as it is his stats. If his Int was higher, you could use him as a backup spellcaster, maybe as a buffer before fights, but it's too low to effectively learn spells. He works as a backup fighter, but his Dex and Con are too low to make him reliable. Give him the Gauntlets of Dexterity and then he is a great archer almost on par with Kivan or Coran, but that's about all you can use him for.

Bards in general are my favorite class, mainly because they can be used to fit any role. That's why it's hard to figure out how to use them, because there are so many uses. They can be used as buffers, through spellcasting and singing, backup archers, or even faster-leveling fighter/mages. It depends on where the stats go, and unfortunately for Eldoth, he doesn't have stats in the right places.

In IWD, bards get a lot of special interactions with NPCs, as well as numerous items only they can use. That's basically it.