Skip to content

"no voice" option for PC

I am so excited about BG:EE that I can literally not fall asleep. So let me mention one thing that has been on my mind:

I would like to request an option to have the PC have NO voice at all. I appreciate the many awesome voice packs included in BG, but there is a proud tradition of silent and nameless CRPG heroes, and in my imagination my PC always sounds just a bit different from any available voice pack. I would be delighted if a silent PC were an option in BG:EE.

Thank you, and I apologize if this has been discussed or if the option already exists (I am no BG expert... yet).

I just cannot express my appreciation for the work Beamdog is doing here. You guys are pioneers and heroes to me. Good luck, I hope you all make tons of money off this project.

Comments

• I think its easy to make a soundset with no sounds, maby ask for it in the modding forums
  • dvalin_marveldvalin_marvel Member Posts: 2
    Thanks, I guess what will be one option.
  • ShinShin Member Posts: 2,345
    There are several ways of accomplishing this. You can start a PC with any soundset and then for example either edit the save file to remove the references to the soundfiles, or rename/delete the soundfiles themselves to mute the character. But obviously a premade quiet soundset would require the least end-user effort.
  • O_BruceO_Bruce Member Posts: 2,790
    Sure, why not. If none of avalible voice sets doesn't fit your character, there should be *possibility* to not picking voice at all. And it should be accomplished in character creation, not messing up with save files.
  • ShinShin Member Posts: 2,345
    Aye, just saying that if he really wants it, it can be readily accomplished with the tools currently available.
  • cyberhawkcyberhawk Member Posts: 350
    edited November 2012