Skip to content

[SPOILERS] Help with Kensai early on in BG1

cbarker15cbarker15 Member Posts: 38
Hi .. I'm completely new to this game and community. I just started playing BG:EE last month and it is without a doubt one of the most engrossing games I've ever played. My problem is I keep restarting because I don't like my class. I decided to play with EET mod and I need help figuring out the game early on with a Kensai/Mage. This seems to be the class I wan't to stick with but its the most challenging class I've played with yet. What steps do you guys take early on to ensure they can survive till level 7 to dual class. The game seems to be getting really hard on core rules and I don't want to lower difficulty. So I just need a couple of tips and companions you recommend to roll with.. also should I use 6 party members or 5.. I want to level up quicker but I also die alot. Thanks to anyone who can help. The community seems nice.
Post edited by cbarker15 on

Comments

• JuliusBorisovJuliusBorisov Member, Administrator, Moderator, Developer Posts: 22,725
    Welcome to the forum!

A Kensai/Mage is quite a meta character, so for a meta character you maybe need to use tactics not for a usual, RP playthrough.

Here's what I would do to survive as a kensai because of that reason:

1) put at least proficiency point into daggers for throwing daggers (great synergy with kensai's STR in terms of damage)
    2) complete Candlekeep quests
    3) go to the Shipwreck's Coast area (go to the south from the starting area after Candlekeep (High Hedge), then go to the west) and kill Shoal the Nereid (5000 xp)
    3) go to Beregost (return through High Hedge and go to the east)
    4) complete minor quests there (Marl, Elvenhair, Mirianne)
    5) go to Nashkel, buy a scroll Flesh to Stone in the temple