Skip to content

Early game low reputation trouble

Hi. This is my first time playing BG and - being primarily a console gamer, and a complacent one at that - I'm obviously a little clueless.

I have started the game with a rather low reputation to begin with (I know it's harder playing evil but I can't make myself be anything but... it's how I always play rpgs when given the option) and now with my party only ranging between levels 2-4 I realized my rep has hit 1.

Now, I have not been acting psychotic and I haven't killed any innocents! At least not unprovoked. Or... not without provoking them first... Oh, dang it, I haven't been slaughtering commoners in the streets, all right? That has to count for something! I have, however, recruited both Viconia and Dorn, and am rather adamant about keeping them in my party. I need Viconia for healing, and Dorn for the sheer power and... things.

But still, seeing as I'm low level and already villified, I fear I may be in trouble. I'm also not loaded enough to pay for even a single reputation point raise at a temple, and with the current prices not likely to get there any time soon either. Haven't ran into any Flaming Fist yet, oddly enough, but I'm sure they will come.

So, my question is - have I painted myself into a corner? Should I start over and try to do good deeds before committing to an eventual descent into villainy?

I'd be thankful for any tips!

Comments

• GallengerGallenger Member Posts: 400
    edited December 2016
    Basically with 1 rep here is how you need to approach it at very low level:

1. Be prepared to run away if a large amount of FF/guards catch you in town. The default guard spawns can be pretty tough early on, but if you can manage to get the jump on them they usually have pretty good loot so that's nice.