Skip to content

Feature request/proposal: Tileset configuration & reskin pack system

LaputianBirdLaputianBird Member Posts: 107
edited March 2018 in General Discussions NWN:EE

TLDR:

I'm proposing/requesting a system that would allow:
- tileset authors to greatly reduce the need for terrain/crosser duplication and for creation/distribution of whole alternative versions of their tilesets
- tileset reskinners to create their retextured version of a specific tileset without any need to touch the model files themselves
- area builders to assign in the toolset a specific texture pack to a specific area, based on the texturepacks available for the specific tileset used to build the area

The system would be 100% backward compatible, no changes would be required for existing tilesets. At the same time, if anybody wanted to apply and take advantage of the system with an existing tileset, it could be done by simply creating and editing a text file.

LONG VERSION:

As a CC author I've been following the development and implementation of the new attributes and systems to extend the modeling and texturing options offered by the game, and I find that at the moment the approach seems to be based on considering each model individually, rather than as part of a set. In particular, I find there is much room for improvement for what concerns tileSETs.

The problem:

Tileset reskins are a popular thing in the CC scene, and up to the current scenario they imply extracting, decompiling and renaming the models, updating the internal name references, changing the texture referenced in the ASCII "code", and then recompiling the models and packaging them as part of a separate tileset.