Skip to content

A nameless evil escapes from Candlekeep - Solo C/T playthrough

I have been trying for some time to complete a solo, no-reloads run but keep dying in the attempt. I am starting a new game with a cleric/thief - a class I have never tried before - so I thought I would keep a journal of her story.

How Nameless got her name

Reevor, Fuller and Hull were gathered at the bar of the Candlekeep Inn, drinking deep and making lewd suggestions about the parentage of the child that Gorion had brought home that day.

"So what's the name of the little bastard anyway?" asked Reevor.

Phlydia, seated by the fire, looked up from her book: "As far as I am aware the child is nameless."

"Nameless?" said Winthrop, winking at the others. "Who saddled the poor little bugger getting with a name like that?"

Phlydia attempted to correct them but the drinkers were having none of it. The child was Nameless so that's what she would be called.

In truth, Gorion had named the girl after her mother but he had reasons for wanting to keep her lineage secret and so he allowed the name to stand.

Her name, or lack of it, remained a constant reminder to the child that she was an outsider in Candlekeep and she felt like an interloper in her own home. She grew up resentful of those around her and dreamed of the day she could escape. She found the sermonising of the monks and the priests tiresome. Their constant preaching against evil made evil itself seem attractive. And in the library, she discovered on the dusty shelves, forbidden texts that enabled her to teach herself clerical spells and tap into a power that she felt writhing inside her.

The Rules of the Run