Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

Dark Dreams of Furiae - a new module for NWN:EE! Buy now
Attention, new and old users! Please read the new rules of conduct for the forums, and we hope you enjoy your stay!

[Infinite Dungeons] Some item properties are incorrectly generated together on the same item

Ian579Ian579 Member Posts: 166
edited September 10 in Technical Support
I found a Ring of Immunity. But its Special Properties are:

Immunity: Mind-Affecting Spells
Improved Saving Throw: Mind Affecting +3

Properties like those should not be generated together on the same item. In the case above, the second property is redundant and should have been something else.

Comments

  • WilliamDracoWilliamDraco Member Posts: 108
    edited September 14
    This is not technically redundant. It is theoretically possible to create a circumstance where a mind-affecting saving throw would be rolled and the effects not be stopped by the immunity.

    I don't know off-hand whether any such circumstance still exists in the base game for mind-affecting, but they once did and it is possible.

  • Ian579Ian579 Member Posts: 166
    edited September 14
    This is not technically redundant. It is theoretically possible to create a circumstance where a mind-affecting saving throw would be rolled and the effects not be stopped by the immunity.

    I don't know off-hand whether any such circumstance still exists in the base game for mind-affecting, but they once did and it is possible.

    I'm not sure about how it works from the coding perspective, but doesn't "Immunity: Mind-Affecting Spells" already blocks all mind-affecting spells so there is no need to make any saving throw?

  • WilliamDracoWilliamDraco Member Posts: 108
    edited September 16
    Immunity to Mind-Affecting Spells blocks all Mind-Affecting effects.

    A simplified breakdown for how the game tests the code might look something like:

    1) Roll a Saving Throw against Mind-Affecting Spells ('Immune' automatically makes this save fail, read on to see why)
    2a) if 1 Succeeded, end here - no further message or feedback.
    2b) if 1 Failed, Apply a Daze to the target.
    3) Daze is a mind-affect effect, and therefore this fails and the "Target is immune" message appears - Getting this message is why 'immune' auto-fails the saving throw (To ensure it gets to this step)

    However, it is possible for 1) to roll against Mind-Affecting Spells, Auto-fail due to being immune, but then for 2b) to apply a not-mind-affecting effect, like a poison or something. Since we aren't immune to poisons, this would go through just fine.

    Most (all?) of the standard spells which would have been affected by this were fixed long again, but it remains technically possible.

    (The same is also possible in reverse. Roll against Poison but get hit with a Daze effect. In that case though, mind-affecting immunity would apply just fine to prevent the Daze)

  • Ian579Ian579 Member Posts: 166
    @WilliamDraco Thanks. I think we need to know how exactly the code works first.

Sign In or Register to comment.