Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

Dark Dreams of Furiae - a new module for NWN:EE! Buy now
Attention, new and old users! Please read the new rules of conduct for the forums, and we hope you enjoy your stay!

Self imposed rules

PaladinsareLG9PaladinsareLG9 Member Posts: 2
I'm wondering what other players use to keep the game more interesting / challenging. I've been playing BG for (God help me) a couple of decades now but I wanted it to feel more like a PnP experience. So some of the self imposed rules I have are:

1. I play on core rules but only take random HP increases every other level. On even level ups I roll randomly and odd max. This keeps me from being overly disappointed if I get a bad roll.

2. If a companion dies but are not whacked I raise them but they are out of the game. If they have a counterpart they are also out of the game to assist in that NPC's 'recovery'.

3. 40 arrows or 60 bullets max per character. This makes me have to engage enemies close up even at low levels which is quite fun.

4. I don't swap armor around. A suit of armor fits one character only.

I've got a bunch more but want to hear from you all.

JuliusBorisovBlackravenBlackbɨrd

Comments

• jmerryjmerry Member Posts: 1,395
    Rather than have one consistent set of personal rules, I mix things up and play themed runs. The rules are different every time. One run, I ban all arcane and divine spellcasting. The next it's all about blasting the enemies with fireballs (so far, 24% of kills and 14% of experience come from enemies killed with fire).

That, and I play with mods that increase difficulty.

PaladinsareLG9JuliusBorisovBlackraven
  • jsavingjsaving Member Posts: 984