Skip to content

Sam Ashen Baldur's Gate

Welcome to my Berserker (with Mage Option) Playthrough thread. The main challenge for me will be to actually finish the game. (I have general issues with overthinking and yet still getting it wrong.)

About one week ago, I finally got around to downloading BGEE and I'm excited to give it a go! I have some background in playing the original Trilogy. I will note some differences as I see them.

My general bias is towards hack and slash, mostly because I do not have much background in playing D&D. It looks like with this character I just rolled, this will change to smash and bash. My secondary goal will be to get better at using the magic system.

Primary Goal: Just Play. Finish the Game.
Measure: Campaign Days as a Ratio of Real Days.
Current Campaign Time: 1 Hour
Current Real Time: 1.5 Hours
Current Score: 67%

Secondary Goal: Get better at Magic.
Primary Measure: Caster Kills as a Ratio of Main Melee Kills.
When I downloaded BGEE, I was a week into old-school BG with the Canon Party, and D was actually creeping up to I in the count, so it might slowly be getting better.

Third Goal: Minimal Reloads.
On a forum, this is very difficult to enforce, because of no video.
Sessions will be hopefully short, about one or two hours with breaks.

We will add in some RP goals as a balance between Role Play and Game Play. By this, I mean try to do some things within a reasonably realistic storyline. For example, the normal storyline will have us get to the FAI as soon as possible, as instructed, then to Beregost, and then to Nashkel with a band of Level 1 misfits. In a YT video in one of those no-reload insane difficulty, SCS mod challenges, I see them pick up X and M, and then go to High Hedge to pick up a protection from petrification scroll, then go straight to take out a bunch of basilisks solo and gain a bunch of XP - then go assemble the party.