Skip to content

Newbie Question to Import/Export Characters in IWDEE

ConfusedWizardConfusedWizard Member Posts: 14
Hello,
and greetings to the community!

I have played BG, BG2, IWD and IWD2 as they were new games, and loved them. So - I am a newbie to the EE versions, which I just discovered. I still have IWD2 (the original), and BG2 (including all parts, the original) installed here on my Windows 7 PC. Both games run fine, IWD (the original) runs also fine, but I decided to try the enhanced version (purchased on GOG).

I am still playing IWDEE (at this time in HOW), but I think the Enhanced Version is ... well enhanced :) Very nice, will probably try out the other enhanced versions too, since I think BG (which I have too in original) does not run so well.

But I have a question: You can play around with your characters, export and import them, this was (I think) done first with Baldurs Gate?

The problem here: If I want to start a new game (IWD, not HOW) I can import characters, which I first created or which I exported from another IWDEE game. This gives nice possibilities.

But when I look to my list of characters (in the home folder under characters) inside the game I see only the name of the character, and his class. Missing is the Kit (Ranger/Archer for example is called only 'Ranger'). Also missing is the level of the character.

If I create a character 'Diddly Downhand' and play with him, later export him, and the try to import, I will see 'Diddly Downhand' two time, with the same picture, the same class, and so on. Which one to import? There is no hint which character is the correct character (i.e. the character with the level I want to import).
Is there some trick?