Skip to content

Unexpected Reputation Loss - a Warning...

Hello,

I played BG2 (SoA and ToB) several times, years before, and have it still installed on my PC. It also runs fine - but BG2 Enhanced runs better. So I am not a newbie to the game.

But yesterday, while playing Chapter 2 in SoA something happened, which was completely new to me. I never saw this in the original game, but I am unsure if this is a 'feature' of the enhanced version or was always so. It also is not a bug, I think:

While playing in the Druids Grove the following happened:
In the save before Druids Grove my party (Protagonist Neutral Good, Jaheira, Jan Jansen, Minsc, Mazzy and Anomen) had a reputation of 16. After winning the Druid fight and handing in the quest in Trademeet I suddenly saw, that the reputation was 9 !!

I could not find out with the quicksaves how this happened. I had to repeat the entire Druid Grove. But I think I know what happened, and where:
There are 2 fights with Shadow Druids before reaching the entrance to the Druid Grove itself, where the third fight happens. I the first fight the Druids fight three Trolls (and lose, if you do not help, because they are incompetent, and have no elemental damage).

In the second fight the party is attacked after a short dialog. Here I think this happened:
One of the Druids says something, then he attacks (red circle). The others are still blue, and change a second or two after this. I did not wait, but hit them all with chaos.