Skip to content

Modeling troubles

I decided to work on porting some models from SpellForce to NWN:EE.

The models look just fine in Blender:

But when I export them to Aurora .mdl with the Neverblender extension, they look all inside-out like this:

I've never used Blender before, so I'm probably missing something obvious, but surely the wise and amazing community knows what I'm doing wrong.

Comments

• TheBarbarianTheBarbarian Member Posts: 58
    Looks like inverted normals. Have you tried recalculating/flipping them? Go to Edit Mode, select all faces, hit T to open the toolbox on the left, go to Shading / UVs, and under Normals, hit Recalculate. Export again, report result.

(!! Spellforce! :heart:)
  • GodGod Member Posts: 1,150
    Good call. Recalculating seems to have solved the problem! :)

However, I've ran into another.

Most SpellForce building models use two materials per mesh, which seems to be a problem for Aurora. So, I tried duplicating the mesh, then removing one of the materials and its vertices, effectively splitting the model. Is this the right way to go about it or is there a better solution? One of the textures also got all weird in the process, and I have no idea why :confused:

Also, SpellForce does not use normal & spec maps, so I made them for NWN:EE and they work beautifully :love:
    Now that kinda looks like the UV mapping for that part of the mesh got reset. I haven't seen this scenario before, though.

In case nobody else shows up with the answer ready at hand - could you upload the files (pre- as well as post-split, preferably) so I can slobber all over it until it yields it's secretses, it's secretses my precioussss?
    I'll send you the files later today in a PM, unless someone else has workable ideas.