Skip to content

Paladin skills

I'm new to d&d and baldur's gate. I'm running a paladin and I don't know what skills to take. Any help would be greatly appreciated

Comments

• Permidion_StarkPermidion_Stark Member Posts: 4,861
    When I am playing a paladin I generally use two-handed swords so I put two pips in them and then two pips in two pips in two-handed weapon style. If you want to be able to use missile weapons as well as melee weapons then I would suggest keeping two pips in two-handed swords and putting just one-pip in two-handed weapon style and putting the remaining pip in axes. This will enable you to use throwing axes when you want to make missile attacks.

However, there are no hard and fast rules about this. You could equally use a long sword or bastard sword and shield, or dual-wield with a long sword and a mace or any other combination of weapons. For that matter, so long as you are not a cavalier (they cannot use missile weapons except throwing axes and daggers) you could use a composite longbow.
    monicoThacoBellAerakar
  • monicomonico Member Posts: 571
    If you plan on continuing to BG2 there is a very (very) powerful 2 handed sword for paladins only, often considered as the most powerful weapon in the game.
    There is also a bastard sword, but comes very late and is less powerful.
    ArtonaPermidion_Stark
  • DJKajuruDJKajuru Member Posts: 3,300
    If you picked a standard paladin (no kit) , his abilities are:
    - Fighting skills: Paladins, fighters and rangers have the best fighting skills in the game because they can apply two or more proficiency points in a weapon, have many hit points, their thac0 (chance to hit modifier) gets improved by level and they can use heavy armor and shields .

-Lay on hands : the lay on hands ability allows a paladin to heal 2 hps per level by touching himself or an ally. It can be used 1x a day.