Skip to content

Suggestions to a Newbie

Hello,

I am going to start to play BG2: Enhanced Edition (I partially played the original BG2 - the non-Enhanced Edition a bit more than 10 years ago) so I am still a BG newbie and I need your advice. My party will be of Good alignment and is composed of :

1 Warrior, my PC Character. He may be Multi-Class, he may be a human but not I am not interested in Dual Classing him.

and my NPCs are:

1 Warrior (or Warrior/Healer of any kind also OK)
2 Healers (main healers - more healers than Warriors)
1 Mage
1 Thief

I play on Normal difficulty, I want an easy to play a character and NPCs, I dot want to invest too much micromanaging every tiny setting detail. I am OK with Multi-Class NPCs.

Any suggestions for a good party with these characteristics? Which NPCs could be best for such a party?

Thank you very much.
Aerakargorgonzola

Comments

• DJKajuruDJKajuru Member Posts: 3,300
    1 warrior
    Minsc is the best good melee warrior , he has extraordinary strength, decent dexterity and constution , and is good with a two handed sword or dual wielding maces.

1/2 Warrior healer or healer
    For the role of warrior healer or healer there's anomen and jaheira. I would keep both for the spell variety (clerical and druidic ones). It is easier to increase jaheira's strength than anomen's dexterity, and druids level up mid term faster than clerics , so jaheira has more advantages IMO.

Mage
    Pick Nalia, and if you feel like it she can be later replaced by Imoen.
    There's Aerie who's a cleric/mage but I would keep her as a support character rather than official party mage, same for jan who is an illusionist/thief.

Thief
    Yoshimo fills that role well, and can also be replaced by Imoen in chapter 3 . Yoshimo's greatest asset is the set trap and set special trap skills , you should boost his open lock and set trap skills to keep him optmized.