Skip to content

Simple kit mod idea, is it overpowered?

GnollGnoll Member Posts: 24
edited February 2020 in General Modding
Hi everyone and anyone that may give me some balancing advice. I'm just starting to learn some coding and moding for the BG series despite playing it for like a decade.

I had an idea for a gladiator character that I hope to eventually turn into an NPC mod. The kit is loosely inspired by Mazzy's abilities, but not as a consequence of divine favor. I like the idea of a fighter having nonmagical "abilties" if they are truly exceptional/different than a common soldier or guard. The kit would be basically as follows:

Advantages
  • Frenzy: Acts as Draw Upon Holy Might, gains a use at 1st level, again at 10th, and 20th
  • Bravado: Acts as Remove Fear, one use at level 1, and again at level 3
  • Spectacle: Acts as Cloak of Fear one use at level 7, again at level 15
  • Arena Solidarity: Acts as defensive harmony, gains a use level 10, again at level 20
  • Agility: Acts as Mazzy's Haste, gains a use at level 10, again at level 20

Disadvantages
  • Heaviest armor they can wear is splint
  • No bludgeoning weapons
  • No ranged weapons
  • Limited to two proficiency points, can't reach three proficiency points in two-weapon fighting

My attempt is, like the barbarian it trades armor and proficiency for some abilities, but I don't know if there should be a fatigue component as well like the berserker. Additionally, the casting time is reduced to match that of innate abilities, so essentially a casting time of 0, which is a large advantage as well. Are repeated uses of these abilities too much? Would it be better to have them be only each once a day?

For what it's worth, the NPC would be a half-gnoll with high strength and dexterity, and average constitution. Probably 17/18 for strength and dexterity, and maybe 15 or 16 for constitution.

Let me know what you think! Any ideas or perspective are appreciated.