Skip to content

Help for newbie (keeping Edwin & Minsc)

A little background. I played the original Baldurs Gate when it first came out like 20 years ago with the 6 CD version, but never played BG2. I have now gotten BG2 EE on my android tablet to play while in lockdown. I am not very tech savvy, but I have been reading a lot of old forum posts and know that mods won't really be an option for me.
My problem is that I have done most of the chapter 2 quests (just have windspear and unseeing eye left) and I want to replace Nalia with Edwin but keep Minsc. From what i have read, there is really no way to stop Edwin and Minsc from killing each other without mods. But I have read that the timing of these deadly confrontations is random, and that you can reload a previous save and they won't go right back and try to kill each other again at the same spot. That said, the random confrontations can and will still occur going forward. I save alot, so I don't mind reloading every once in a while to combat this. That said, I don't want to have to do this every few minutes or anything. So my questions are:
1) Are these confrontations really random as opposed to specifically timed or event triggered? If they are timed or triggered, then there is no point in doing the reload thing as the confrontation would just keep happening right after the reload.
2) If they are truly random, can anyone who has done this tell me how often it tends to occur? If it only happens once in a long while, then the reload thing won't be a big deal. But if it happens very frequently, the it will be too much of a pain and a flow disruption to constantly have to reload so it won't be worth it.
I know this is basic stuff and most everyone on these forums is on their 50th playthrough with their complex mods, but if anyone can help out a middle aged, not tech savvy noob I would appreciate it.
kaja8dunbarTimbo0o0o0

Comments

• ThacoBellThacoBell Member Posts: 12,235