Skip to content

Creating a new feat

Forgive me if this has been talked about before, but I could not readily find it on the forum so I apologize if again it has already been discussed. I currently want to create a feat that gives the PC the ability to be a Lythari. I am new to editing .2da files but I think I can do it. I do have a few questions that I hope someone can answer.

What are all the .2da files I need to edit?
So far I think they are spells.2da, dialog.tlk & feat.2da. Are there others?

I want to kind of base it off of the druid "Wild_Shape_WOLF" ability. Looking it up in the feats.2da file I find this:

Label Name IconResRef School Range VS MetaMagic TargetType ImpactScript
403 Wild_Shape_WOLF 8180 ife_WildWolf T P - **** 0x01 NW_S2_WildShape

and so on....

The line continues but this is my point of reference. As I look down this row I find this column:

FeatID

Does anyone know what this column points to? Is it another .2da file? I looked for this reference in the feat.2da, spells.2da, and dialog.tlk and can not find it anywhere. Is it something I need? I figured that I would use this line as a template for my line in the feat.2da file but I am not sure if this FeatID is needed. Any help would be greatly appreciated since this is my first venture into this realm. Any tips or pointers would be wonderful as well.

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• FreshLemonBunFreshLemonBun Member Posts: 909
    The line is in spells.2da not feat.2da, regardless it's not necessary to create an active feat, I'm uncertain what that particular number points to but it might be a hardcoded engine-defined thing.

By setting up an active feat properly it will use the spell row to then call the impact script. To get an idea of what you might want to do take a look at the script nw_s2_wildshape under "all resources" when you try to open a script in the toolset.