Skip to content

Casting spells underwater

AurikAurik Member Posts: 4
I'm new to all this building and scripting. I have an idea of a few underwater flooded tunnels and rooms in a dungeon. I have found a way to make it so the players need water breathing items to simulate being underwater and not drowning. I however still can't find any information on how to make it so fire spells can't be cast in the underwater areas. Is there a way currently and how difficult is it to set up?

Comments

• FreshLemonBunFreshLemonBun Member Posts: 909
    You have to recompile all of the affected spell scripts accounting for underwater areas.
  • ShadooowShadooow Member Posts: 402
    If all you need is to restrict certain spells, that is easy to do in spellhook. Just check for area tileset or variable and then cancel spells you don't want there to be cast.

If you want to modify their effect, that is more difficult and will require of rewriting all the affected spells. It could be done in spellhook again, but it can get too messy there. Depends on what you want to replace it with and if that effect will be shared with multiple spells or each spell gets unique treatment.
    dunahan
  • AurikAurik Member Posts: 4
    Thanks FreshLemonBun for responding. Recompile as in edit the spells.2da? Or do you mean something else? The only thing I found was something called "Grimoire underwater rules" but I'm not sure if that is actually working, an old post or something else entirely.
  • AurikAurik Member Posts: 4
    Thanks for responding Shadooow. I'm checking over the spellhook information but as a novice it's still a little confusing. I have no experience at all with scripting or programming languages.
  • ProlericProleric Member Posts: 1,268
    You can't do much here without learning to script a bit. As others have said, the choices are - use the spell hook script (probably easier) - or - edit and recompile the individual spell scripts.