Skip to content

Mod idea: how to wear gauntlets AND bracers at the same time (BG2EE)

Simple idea:
Seperating gauntlets from bracers to be able to wear both types of equipment at the same time.

First thought about solution, but unrealistic (?):
I need a extra slot. But i have no experience how to do so and even if its possible, which i doubt, it will be difficult.
I like modding, but only simple stuff. So lets skip that.

Simple easy solution idea:
I could just change all gauntlets into rings category via Near Infinity (the only program i use),
so i can use bracers along with gauntlets (now considered rings) with only sacrificing one ring slot if i insist to do so, which would be fair enough. Furthermore i could exclude them like the magic equipment restriction from rings and armor.

The only question which i am concerned about is whether or not it will inflict any crash or misfunction if enemy npcs would use such gauntlets if they are then considered rings.

Thanks for reading and thinking.

Comments

• TressetTresset Member, Moderator Posts: 8,264
    Maybe you could make bracers into 'boots' like Drizzt does in his books (I heard he wears bracers of sword fighting or something on his legs to improve his footwork during fights). After all, other than the boots of speed, there aren't too many spectacular boots in the game.

Anyway if you did decide to change them, there shouldn't be any problems with the game. Many NPCs have equipment equipped to odd slots in the game. Going back to Drizzt again (because, by coincidence, it is the first example that comes to mind); before the Beamdog improved him for the enhanced editions, he used to have his swords equipped in his amulet and glove slots in BG1.
  • MerowechMerowech Member Posts: 3