Skip to content

My first playthrough without reload and random part comp

Hi, it's my first time doing a playthrough of BG1 without reloading and it's awesome, for me it's a new dimension for this game and I'm enjoying it a lot. Is a very good way to enjoy again playing BG like the first times.

I use to play with quicksaving quickloading all the battles until the fight is perfect on my side, and playing like that puts me in a position that I use all the resource I have and adapt on every situation.

Right now I'm playing by these rules:
  • No reload
  • Charname permadeath
  • Random charname class
  • No stats reroll
  • Random party composition

Right now on this playthrough I got:
  • Wizard Slayer for my charater
  • My allowed party: Imoen, Montaron, Edwin, Branwen, Eldoth

It's not a bad party but I didn't manage to arribe in time to the Gnoll Stronghold so I already lost Edwin, among a lot of fails in some battles, but still alive.

Also, in order to prevent me to be tempted to reload sometimes I'm recording while playing so I don't cheat "in front of the camera".

PS: Well it's the second try, on the first I was instakilled by Tarnesh with a magic missile on my Enchanter Charname lol.

If someone is interested I leave the videos on this link:
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLOEtIwJ0iV9ivxSo2pU_GqRjKOnS5rJzc

mgfvr0l7mzo4.jpeg
JuliusBorisov

Comments

• CloutierCloutier Member Posts: 228
    I've had some playthroughs like that.
    Keep the first stats roll, randomly roll for class and weapon proficiencies. Roll for allowed NPCs (every other NPC is forbidden from joining). Party management becomes serious business. NPCs can be raised, but chunking is a real problem, making the companions a valuable and limited asset.
  • SelerelSelerel Member Posts: 172
    I've never had the guts to do CHARNAME perma-death then just roll a new character...