Skip to content

Project Infinity - mod manager for Baldur's Gate, Icewind Dale, Planescape Torment, and EET

Comments

• AlonsoAlonso Member Posts: 806
    AntonII wrote: »
    Alonso wrote: »
    "I want to warn others of this situation"

But who needs this warning? Absolute newbies who freshly downloaded the game from steam and just want to play it as it is will likely never even know there are mods.
    I would have loved to have this warning a few months ago when I started the frustrating and time consuming process of figuring out how to make PI work. And that was after spending literally thousands of hours with these games and their mods through the years. So no, it's not a newbies problem. Look back in this thread and you'll find similarly veteran gamers who were similarly frustrated by the lack of instructions (let alone an intuitive interface). They never reported back, my guess is that they never made it.

You might want to consider the idea that the things you know and understand are not the same things that other people know and understand.
    DavidW wrote: »
    Suppose your approach to modding is to peruse PPG and Gibberlings Three and make a fairly selective pick of mods - say, just for an example: Ascension, Quest Pack, Unfinished Business, a couple of Kulyok's quest mods, a couple of NPCs, Spell Revisions, SCS, Tweaks Anthology. I don't think you'll have very much trouble installing that lot just by clicking the download links, reading the install instructions, and running the setup-xyz programs.