Skip to content

House rules to reignite the fire

StopTouchingMeStopTouchingMe Member Posts: 8
edited November 2020 in Challenges and Playthroughs
Hi all,

I've been playing this game on and off for 20 years, and am still enjoying it ! Lately though, i've been struggling to find rules and mods to spark the same emotions as when i first started, since I know the game so well. You know, the "oh shit a wolf can kill me !" or the "I hope that bastard has good loot !".

I finally find a setup that is truly thrilling again, and am having an absolute blast. I figured i'll share it here, since others probably encountered the same challenge.

First off, I play convenience reloads LoB+SCS+ascension. On top of that, i found a few house rules that really add the old bg flavor :
- Double damage taken activated
- Monster increase in number and respawn every 16h.
- SCS has all max annoying settings for the whole saga (including the infamous "every eligible npc has HLA")
- Item randomizer (big change. No more "i'll just rush that item and then autowin every battle)
- npc project (adds a few nice items, but overall doesn't change the balance too much)
- No recharging wands and trinkets
- No summons spells, trinkets, or wands (this is huge if, like me, you would just summon 5 skeletons and clear the map. Really nice change). I can only cast summoning spells from charmed npc.
- I play with convenience reloads : no party member death reloads, no combat reloads, no learning spell reload, but stuff like mod bugs or Melicamp dying makes kill my thunder so i reload. Also if a key canon npc gets chunked - namely Imoen, jaheira, minsc - (annoying that no mods prevents that), I finish the fight, then reload and kill him properly at the start of the fight and win it again with the rest of the party.