Skip to content

Avoiding Nashkel

This isn't my first run where I intentionally had my party avoid Nashkel, and triggering chapter 2, but it is my first time to get my characters leveled up this far before doing so. I am grateful that the game allows you so much latitude to do so, and I plan on cleaning out every area accessible to them before heading down there. Right now, most of the party is level 3 or thereabouts.

I am curious what the practical side effects of waiting until your party is significantly higher level than usual for starting chapter 2. Having a dragon disciple with the RoW means kobolds should be easier to handle, thanks to so many sleep spells, but does this quest slide in difficulty with the party, or am I setting my party up for a cakewalk?

Comments

• jmerryjmerry Member Posts: 3,829
    It'll be a cakewalk. Absolutely nothing in the mines scales with the party. There aren't even any spawn points to generate more kobolds, as there are on the surface.
  • MaurvirMaurvir Member Posts: 1,090
    After returning from the werewolf island, I decided it was time for the party to stop horsing around. They also visited the Ice Island and cleaned out about 2/3 of Durlag's Tower. The popular strategy of using arrows of detonation is somewhat hampered by the party only having access to a small supply at the moment.
  • jmerryjmerry Member Posts: 3,829
    Werewolf Island? I thought you couldn't go there until chapter 5; the sea charts are in the big city.

Also, I've never used detonation arrows as a big thing in Durlag's tower. The only encounter that I go all in on explosions for is the chess game, and that's a volley of wand/potion/necklace fireballs.
  • MathsorcererMathsorcerer Member Posts: 3,037
    jmerry wrote: »
    Werewolf Island? I thought you couldn't go there until chapter 5; the sea charts are in the big city.