Skip to content

Release Date for Android version

2»

Comments

• ManveruManveru Member Posts: 75
    edited November 2012
    From Twitter:

@TrentOster
    We're hopeful Android is only a week or two behind. We've got a few sneaky bugs left
    Aristillius
  • AristilliusAristillius Member Posts: 873
    Thanks for sharing @Manveru!
  • SylviusSylvius Member Posts: 2
    Let's hope we don't have to wait too much !
  • ceramic_golemceramic_golem Member Posts: 10
    edited November 2012

Actually, your argument is flawed, and incorrect.
    I am a 3rd year student working on a BA in game design.
    I've taken several classes on tablet gaming, it is a major part of the curriculum at most schools now as it it assumed to be the wave of the future.
    It is not harder to develop for Android, this is a common misconception, it is less profitable, and this is why most devs develop for Android last.

For your comment to make sense, you would have to assume that all PC's are the same resolution, chipset, screen size, OS etc. In fact, there is way more variation in the PC medium than in the tablet, yet PC versions always come out first.

Edited for spelling.

Sorry, but you took offense and either misread or wrongly conflated different parts of my post. You'll note the only time I mention traditional desktop/laptop operating systems is the very start, as a reference to gamers on those platforms being relatively up-to-date (along with iPhone/iPad users). The Windows and Macintosh setups aren't that important for the mobile OS discussion, except to point out the similarity in low usage rates for badly-outdated operating systems.

After that, it's strictly Android vs iOS for the core content and vast majority of the post. In that regard, funky resolution and chipsets and weird variables actually do matter, even aside from basic profits and piracy rates. When you cannot deliver a standard experience across a generation of devices, the user experience suffers.