Skip to content

Impressions of BGEE.

SionIVSionIV Member Posts: 2,689
Well yesterday i started playing BGEE and had some questions that got answered. I ended up fixing some of the problems i had with the game, but some of them still remain. Anyway, i'm a bit dissapointed with this game. I don't regret speding money on it, as i think it's money well spent. But in the form the game is right now i don't feel that it can stand up to the hype, and neither that it can stand up to Trilogy.

1.) The interface looks odd, it's hard getting used to it after so many years of Baldur's Gate 2 interface. It's not bad in anyway, it's just different and in this case different isn't what i'm looking for. They could have touched up the BG2 one instead of making a new one with that hideous blue colour (Opinion).

2.) I love the way the large shield looks in BGEE, but i wish they had taken more from the original Baldur's gate. My full plate still looks like someone molded metal onto a rock, and i wish they had taken the avatars from Baldur's gate I. This might not be possible but it would have been great if they atleast had done something with the plate look.

3.) The new NPC's are nice enough, but they just don't fit into the game for me. I can't put my finger on it, but they don't have that feel to it that the old ones have. And yes the old ones barely have any dialogue, but they still get me to smile and laugh. The new NPC's are a little bit like having a brand new radio in a antique(?) shop.