Skip to content

New to BG, could use some help with a Fighter/Thief build

Hello all,

I am new to BG, I played some IWD back in the day, but it's been a LONG time since I've played a D&D game.

I did some research and decided to make a F/T dual class. However, I have some questions.

When should I start the dual class? level 2 or 3 (I even read a post that said level 7)

Which abilities should I focus on as a fighter and as a thief?

I have a good idea as a group composition, but any suggestions?

I know that I should have my STR, DEX, CON at 18 ASAP to get the best out of my dual class, am I correct?

Thanks for all the help!

Comments

• [Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 3,675
    edited April 2013
    The user and all related content has been deleted.
    Post edited by [Deleted User] on
    secretmantraQuartz
  • secretmantrasecretmantra Member Posts: 259
    edited April 2013
    Let me start off by suggesting that if you haven't played one of these for a while, you will have a lot more fun experiencing the game with either a straight class Thief or Fighter, or perhaps a multi-class F/T. Dual classing is an advanced player tactic, and it can really screw up your enjoyment of the game if you don't know what you're doing.

When to dual is a very hard question to answer. Short version: It depends on what you want out of the character.

So I am assuming from your post that you are planning to be Fighter first, then dual to Thief. If that is the case, you could dual after level 3, 7, or 13, depending on:

A) How soon you want to start playing as a Thief, and
    B) How tough and effective in combat you want your character to be.

Here's some info to help understand what you get at the different fighter levels.

Level 3 => 5 proficiency slots, up to 3 pips in a weapon, 3d10 hp (hitpoints).
    Level 7 => 6 proficiency slots, up to 4 pips in a weapon, 7d10 hp, and 1.5 base APR (attacks per round).