Skip to content

Advice for playing as a kensai?

13»

Comments

• kansasbarbariankansasbarbarian Member Posts: 206
    I started playing BG 2 as a kensage and yes they are powerful but I still prefer my F/T dual class for some reason. I took all the buffs and stoneskin for the kensage but its just not my play style for some reason. I think what it comes down to for me is the UAI from thief that I just love.
  • Lord_TansheronLord_Tansheron Member Posts: 4,212
    @kansasbarbarian: don't worry about all the screams in this thread, these things really only come into play at the highest difficulty levels and mod settings. Anything below that, play what you enjoy and don't let people spoil it for you with their cries of OP-ness :P
  • DavidWDavidW Member Posts: 823

And yeah, that scripted BS is the reason I don't play SCS/Tactics anymore

I think you're talking about prebuffing, i.e. spells that get cast instantly at the start of battle to simulate pre-battle casting. If you don't like it, turn it off: it's optional, and fairly well documented. (You'll still get stoneskin, but that simulates a 24-hour duration spell that can be cast at the beginning of the day.) SCS with no prebuffing is fairly far ahead of the vanilla game as regards not cheating.

I don't use any cheese, and I sure as hell aren't allowing enemies to do so.
    Seven years of writing AI mods has made it fairly clear that there is no stable definition of "cheese" other than "things I don't like". (I can think of several people who'd define a Barbarian/Mage multiclass as cheese!)

Only mod i use these days are Ascension and RRB, and what edits I've been able to figure out to make things more PnP accurate.

By your definition of cheese, Ascension is fairly radically worse than anything else you're discussing. (Possibly the point is that it's worth putting up with for the story, though.)