Skip to content

What is with Armour Class being a negative number? (And general questions)

FranpaFranpa Member Posts: 637
Edit: I don't mean to antagonize or generate hostility between me and anyone else, I don't mean to upset fanatics of the original game system. I'm a novice and am just curious why the game still, to this day sticks to this weird seemingly confusing system.

I assume this is the reason for it (Correct me if I'm wrong):

When something buffs Armour Class it lists it as a positive buff prefixed by a + symbol, even though it lowers your armour class and if something debuffs your Armour Class then it is prefixed with a - symbol even though it raises your Armour Class.

Now, I believe it works this way because stats on items are de/buffing the dice you roll to determine if an attack hits, misses or crits and Armour Class is a representation of the difference between you and Armour Class 0? (This explanation of mine doesn't make sense, if someone wants to elaborate on it/rectify it that would be nice)

I dunno, I'm sure there's some kind of BOARD GAME reason behind how it is currently set up, but from a computer game perspective I can't see how it adds any value to the experience other then making things needlessly confusing. Can't the positive/negative status of Armour Class be reversed so that positive values on gear is good and have a positive effect on AC? That way the positive/negative values on gear make SENSE and it afaik has zero impact on the gameplay unless you're playing with a Board and real dice.

Also, save throws and stuff, are positive numbers good for them? Or negative? Seems odd to have one system where positive numbers are good and the underlying system is easy to understand and another system where positive numbers are good, but they have a confusing negative impact on a stat.
Post edited by Franpa on

Comments

• FranpaFranpa Member Posts: 637
    edited November 2013
    TJ_Hooker said: