Skip to content

Assassin/mage vrs Swashbuckler/mage

null_objectnull_object Member Posts: 5
edited January 2014 in New Players (NO SPOILERS!)
This is my first time playing Baldur's gate and I can't decide on which build I'm going to use, either Assassin/mage or Swashbuckler/mage, and was hoping I could get some feed back on the pros and cons of both. I was also curious about being an Archer/mage, but apparently that isn't possible.

I was planning on using bows for the most part and casting mostly debuff/disabling spells and summons.

This character is going to be played through both BGI and II.
Post edited by null_object on

Comments

• SwordsNotWordsSwordsNotWords Member Posts: 147
    Archer/mage isn't possible in Baldur's Gate, Fighter or Thief dualed or multi'd with mage would be your best bet for that kind of build. Perhaps an Assassin -> Mage to utilise their poison on your arrows/bolts.
  • null_objectnull_object Member Posts: 5
    edited January 2014
    Also, what should I do with my proficiency points at the beginning? I believe I'll have one left over after I put a point into bows.
    Post edited by null_object on
  • CorvinoCorvino Member Posts: 2,269
    edited January 2014
    If this is your first time playing Baldur's Gate then I would really suggest playing either a Multiclass or a Single Class rather than a Dual Class. The Dual-Class mechanic can be very frustrating for beginners due to the downtime involved and complexity of the system. Thief/Mage is a solid Multiclass, even without a kit.

If you really want to be an Assassin->Mage or Swashbuckler->Mage though, read on. Bear in mind that you need a minimum of 15 Dex and 17 Int to dual from a thief kit to mage, and must be human.