Skip to content

Building My First PC!

HeindrichHeindrich Member, Moderator Posts: 2,959
edited March 2014 in Off-Topic
Hey guys, following on from my questions regarding how to improve my laptop, I've looked into possibly just getting a new PC... And I've been researching the possibility of building my own (desktop) for the first time.

I am a total noob at this kind of stuff. Ideally I'd like to find a guide somewhere that demonstrates the step-by-step construction of a particular build that suits my needs, but although I've found a few tutorials on Youtube, none are ideal because:

1) Too expensive.
2) Too old.
3) Suggests components and/or builds I don't quite like.

So I've come up with a draft build based on my research thus far, and I'd appreciate your advice, feedback and answers as always. I've gone for safe and 'mainstream/popular' options by default, but if there are cheaper (but still reliable) alternatives, I'd love to hear it.

Motherboard

ASUS Z87M-PLUS Motherboard with 1150 Socket

I don't really know much about motherboards other than that they come in different sizes and Intel and AMD are not compatible. I think this is one of the bigger motherboards that you can get, which is good because I want as much space as possible, both to fit fans, and to give me options for upgrades in the future. Also I found a tutorial online which used this particular model, so it might be handy given so many things connect to the motherboard.

CPU

Intel CPU i5-4670K 3.4GHz Socket 1150 Quad Core Haswell Retail with Heat Sink Fan

My research indicates that modern computer performance bottleneck is GPU rather than CPU, and there is little practical difference between i7 and i5, so I decided to save on ~£70 here. It looks like all CPUs come with their built-in fans, but I've seen guides that strongly recommend me to buy an improved cooling fan. I currently have no idea what options I have and whether this really is so important. Advice would be appreciated!

GPU