Skip to content

Ridiculously expensive merchandise

This has been bothering me ever since I started playing this game, years, ago, and it has now resurfaced with the Enhanced Edition having done nothing to address the issue.

There are plenty of magical items for sale in Kuldahar, with two merchants. Thing is, nearly all of them cost thousands of gold peaces, many of them tens of thousands. The former I can accept, barely, but the latter not so much: unlike in Baldur's Gate I'm never swimming in money here, can be happy to have several hundred coins in my pocket at one time - I don't think it would be even theoretically possible to collect enough money to purchase -one- of those items for sale, not even if you collected every single piece of tiniest loot you find and sold bloody everything.

Why are they even there? Why are they for sale when you can never purchase them? It's a tease, that's what it is. Stop teasing me!

Comments

• Lord_TansheronLord_Tansheron Member Posts: 4,211
    Those items are quite powerful, and are meant to be used in advanced stages of the game. You should have the gold then, if you're not wasting too much of it along the way :P

I can remember having around 30k by Dragon's Eye, and that's only Chapter Two. It's definitely possible to buy those items reasonably soon.
  • SceptenarSceptenar Member Posts: 606
    Frankly I don't know why you're not swimming in money. I finished my first playthrough of the game yesterday, I had bought everything I wanted (which was a lot) and I still had a solid half million in gold to throw around afterwards.

You are clearly doing something wrong. You do know that when you kills someone you get to take their stuff right?
  • CalmarCalmar Member Posts: 688
    Yeah, one mustn't be too lazy pick up every gold piece, open every box and carry stuff for selling back to town. I've never had a lack of gold, even though I hoard every unique item.
  • AndewCCAndewCC Member Posts: 3