Skip to content

[Solo Mage] When to start Expansion? (HoW)

IrbisIrbis Member Posts: 49
Hi guys, i'll make it quick.
Being an IE veteran i never actually played HoW/TotLM (The expansion was published long after i've done the main game) so this will be my first time playing thru expansion.
I tried goggling, when should i start the expansion but my case is a bit diffrent as i am soloing the game with a mage. I just entered Severed Hand, and my mage is a 12lvl Wild Mage.

I am concerned should i go now? Or maybe after Severed Hand? Or maybe i should wait till the very end?
The thing is - soloing the game makes me gain levels a lot faster, but also leaves all the battles a lot more challanging. The problem here is - i presume the HoW, when being hard at lower level, will also make me very powerful by the end of it, and i don't want the main story to become too easy after HoW. And the other way around - i am affraid that if i start the expansion to late, it'll become too easy and loss it's charm. I think it's safe to say i might be 14-15lvl by the end of Severed Hand. But REMEMBER - i am soloing.

Oh and i am playing on core difficulty setting (At first, i played on max but i've found the game to be... too easy lol. Sure the enemies hit harder and have more hp - but at the same time i gained way too many XP and LVL).

Comments

• FardragonFardragon Member Posts: 4,511
    Access to mage spells is better in HoW, so you should go early. On the other hand, Burial Isle is punishing, so you should go late...
  • IrbisIrbis Member Posts: 49
    edited February 2015
    Fardragon said:

Access to mage spells is better in HoW, so you should go early. On the other hand, Burial Isle is punishing, so you should go late...