Skip to content

Baldur's gate fame

Do you think there will ever be a game as good as Baldur's gate?

I have been playing the series since year 2000 and tried many newer strategy RPGs without any comparison to Baldur's gate.

Neverwinter nights was good but lacked the replayability of Baldur's gate. I have conflicted feelings about dragon age which I think was spoiled by design for consoles. Temple of elemental evil was fun and very strategic however the complete lack of story was a disappointment. Divinity original sin was terrible in my opinion and despite all my experience playing RPGs seem too difficult.

Comments

• FrozenDervishFrozenDervish Member Posts: 295
    Well you have pillars of eternity coming up within the month which looks really good.
  • LuremasterLuremaster Member Posts: 100
    I really hope so. Of my top ten favorite video games, however, none were made after 2005, and the majority of them were made before the turn of the century. That's not a very encouraging sign, IMO
  • Eadwyn_G8keeperEadwyn_G8keeper Member Posts: 541
    I could easily see some amazing game being developed to an amazing depth, a labor of love, much like the decades Tolkien spent on Middle-Earth before LOTR emerged. I mean what are all these billionaires going to do in their Elder Years that could be more rewarding than sponsoring a bunch of inspired geniuses turned on by a really good story and World-concept!!!

I think I will start sending out some flyers...
  • Lord_TansheronLord_Tansheron Member Posts: 4,212
    I sure friggin hope so. We can't just be spiraling down the ol' "they don't make 'em like they used to", can we?

I've been waiting, I am waiting, and I'll keep on waiting. And hoping.
  • LuremasterLuremaster Member Posts: 100
    IMO the only RPGs to come close to BG are KotOR 1 and KotORII with TSLRCM installed. I also enjoyed Drago Age Origins. The Elder Scrolls games are good too, but I think that they have come to rely too much on action.