Skip to content

BG1 & BG2 Replay Value - Vanilla

dockaboomskidockaboomski Member Posts: 440
If you were to install the original, unmodded games, could you make a saga run without any mods? Fixpacks do not count for the purposes of this poll.

EDIT: For clarification, by 'vanilla' I mean Baldur's Gate and Tales of the Sword Coast from 1998; BG2 and ToB from 2000.

I, for one, could not do it. Limited stacking? Not happening anytime soon.
  1. BG1 & BG2 Replay Value - Vanilla52 votes
    1. Yes. I would have little difficulty replaying the vanilla games.
      55.77%
    2. No. I can not go back.
      44.23%
Post edited by dockaboomski on

Comments

• semiticgoddesssemiticgoddess Member Posts: 14,903
    Mods are excellent, but so are the vanilla games. I wouldn't have ever come across the mods if I did not love vanilla BG2.
  • Lord_TansheronLord_Tansheron Member Posts: 4,211
    Mods are the SOLE reason I've been playing this game for 10 years. I would not go back if I didn't have mods.
  • CaeDaresCaeDares Member Posts: 182
    Modding is what continues making the game fun. While I personally don't install heavy mods to the game, I like to modify spells and how they look, give the game a little more visual effects than just what comes with the game. No matter how you do it, everybody adds mods at some point, that I know of. Its just what keeps the game playable.
  • hisplshispls Member Posts: 166
    Before the item stacking I'd generally cheat in a couple containers for easier inventory management. Still though these games hold replay value with or without the new polish.
  • KamigoroshiKamigoroshi Member Posts: 5,870
    edited March 2015
    I could do it, sure, but I wouldn't enjoy it in the least.
    Just thinking about not having Half-Orc characters in BG1makes me shiver in despair! :tired_face:
  • GrumGrum Member, Mobile Tester Posts: 2,100