Skip to content

A Paladin and Samuel the Deserter

So here an interesting question. On my current run of Bg in which I have a fully created party of a lg Undead hunter lg Ranger, Lg Caviler, LN Thief Mage, LG Conjurer, and LG Cleric of Lanthander. So I wonder how they would react to this in a rp sense. Obliviously Samuel broke the law by deserting, but should he punished because he didn't desert out of cowardice, but out of love for that girl right? So I'm torn on what a Lawful group would actually do.

Comments

• GrumGrum Member, Mobile Tester Posts: 2,100
    Speaking as a soldier I always turn him in.

No sympathy for people who join in peace and desert when war looms.
    Good rping there.
  • jesterdesujesterdesu Member Posts: 373
    LG would turn him in. NG might not, would depend on whether they thought his actions were good/ evil, chaotic good wouldn't turn him him.
  • reedmilfamreedmilfam Member Posts: 2,808
    Based on the way the Flaming Fist operates - very much thugs, based on what my party experienced to that point - my party did not turn him in.

Yes, FF says, "I am the law!" That statement does not come from an objective source, and our party disagrees. :smiley:
    I get ya, however that would be a Neutral good reaction. Lawful good would not condone unlawful actions (deserting in this case), even to leave an unscrupulous group unless perhaps there was absolutely no alternative. The LG response for somebody in Sam's position would be to find a legitimate and lawful way to leave the fists.
  • atcDaveatcDave Member Posts: 2,150
    @jesterdesu I think the problem with that is a Paladin's first loyalty is to their church, not the state. So their "law" is the law of their deity, NOT the local government. They may, or may not, consider the local rulers legitimate or godly. And that would determine their response to the FF's claims of authority more than anything an FF enforcer might try to claim.