Skip to content

First playthrough, entire series, one character: Dual class or multiclass Fighter/Mage?

jtthjtth Member Posts: 171
I'm new to this whole thing. I'll be playing the enhanced editions. My favorite kind of character is a mage fighter. (Really a mage fighter tamer, a la Ultima Online.) I plan to play through everything as the same character.

Here's what I'm not sure about: should I play as a multiclassed elf fighter/mage, or should I try dual classing as a fighter first, then switch over at level 9 as people recommend, to a mage? Can I do that within BG1:EE? I've heard dual-classing like that required the changeover to happen nearly toward the end of BG1 or in BG2. That doesn't really seem like playing the same character in both games, growing more and more powerful throughout.

I'm not new to power play in games in general, but I am new to the series. For maximal enjoyment of the plot and environment, while still playing to the kind of character I'd like, how would you recommend I play? Thanks.

I don't want to be absurdly overpowered (which I hear the dual-classed Kensai/Mage is), but I also don't want to miss out on neat end-game spells or potential, which is why I'm conflicted. I plan on playing with a party throughout.

Comments

• craymond727craymond727 Member Posts: 208
    Are you planning on wading into melee frequently, using buffs and casting to supplement your character, or do you prefer more of a pure caster with better HP and weapon abilities than a single-class mage?
  • DevardKrownDevardKrown Member Posts: 421
    Fighter7/Mage (you must be Human)
    you are a Fighter the First Half of the game and a mage the other , and at the very End you are a Fighter+Mage !

Fighter9/Mage (you must be Human)
    you are a fighter for the whole of Baldurs Gate 1 , a Mage for like an Hour in BG2 and then what you Want to be for BG2+ToB

Fighter/Mage Multi (you Must be Elf/ Half-elf /gnome)