Skip to content

Caelar NPC mod (Can contain SOD Spoiler)

nysinysi Member Posts: 60
edited July 2016 in BGII:EE Mods
Hello all,

I'm currently working on a mod that add the possibility to recruit Caelar into your party in BG2 (SOA).
I'm a beginner in mod conception, but on holiday and get a lot of free time to work on it.

Regarding the mod :

- You can recruit Caelar in the Planar Sphere, on the abyss layer (MAP 0414).

- She a Lawful good Lv15 fighter. I plan to add a quest that could change her to a paladin (Probably a Morninglord of Lathander)

- Reason for her to be in the Abyss :
She was held prisoner by a Devil (Thrix the profane, the devil that propose a bargain at the end of SOD) but for unknown reason, this devil tried to exchange her with a Daemon and sent them to the abyss (It's the reason why you encounter her in the Abyss). A fight occurred and Caelar manage to flee.

I know it could be done better, but as I'm beginner, I prefer to start simple, and if needed to update it later when I'm more confident with weidu.

- As she was a prisoner, she do not held any weapon or item, and is in a bad state when you encounter her.
I would like to let her obtain his shield, sword and armor during a quest. (Not the helm, as the Unofficial item pack add it to the game already).

- The mod assume you let her live and join you during Sod final battle. But I tried to add dialogue option that also imply the contrary.

- So far, she only have two banter with Minsc and one with Imoen at the moment. I'm working on adding more and interject too.

- She's only available in SOA at the moment, but I will add an option to recruit her in TOB.

- She is fully voiced with her original voiceset. Remark : I'm almost sure the dev plan to add her as a DLC one day. There is a lot of unused voice in the game (Reputation happy/unhappy, a sound where she said she will avenge her sister..). If Beamdog release such DLC, I will no longer support this mod and stuck with the official version.