Skip to content

[Minor spoilers] Define cheese

I recently started playing Legacy of Bhaal in BG2, and I'm reading more comments about cheese in the LoB threads than I've read in any other thread. One comment in particular grabbed my attention:

It's not that the game encourages cheese now - it's that cheese is a minimum requirement, and you have to come up with strategies in addition to the cheese.

I'm enjoying so much LoB so far, but I don't like that idea at all. For me cheese is a no, no. If I need cheese to do it, it means I'm doing it wrong. But I guess that depends on your definition of cheese. For me cheese means you get an advantage which is unrealistic within the context of the fantasy, exploits the shortcomings of the game and/or is clearly not the way the game is meant to be played. Typical examples would be luring enemies from a group so you can take them one at a time. Or running away when the mages cast their buffs and coming back when the duration of their buffs has ended.

On the other hand, I'm not sure if you can consider cheese using the imbalances of the game. Many people say the Robe of Vecna is overpowered, and they're probably right. Yet you can get it even at level 8, and if it is there, ready to be bought, it means that's what the game designers intended.

So what's your definition of cheese?

Note: I decided to start using LoB when I was already in Spellhold, and since I didn't feel like starting the game again, I found a way to swith to LoB difficulty in the middle of the game. Of course, that means that my current view of LoB (and the possible requirement of using cheese to beat it) is different than other's.

Comments

• mf2112mf2112 Member, Moderator Posts: 1,919
    Defining "cheese" is like defining "obscenity". - "I know it when I see it." Potter Stewart
  • _Connacht__Connacht_ Member Posts: 169
    My definition of cheese is: