Skip to content

Completionist vs Role Playing views.

2»

Comments

• BelegCuthalionBelegCuthalion Member, Mobile Tester Posts: 453
    Aasim said:

Slightly off topic - For some reason, I can't force myself to go through any RPG other than BG. Likewise, I have no interest in any game other than BG and an occasional game of DoTA(multiplayer) /C&C Generals(modded skirmish).
    I tried PoE, tried DA:O; I can't find any pleasure in those games for some reason. Sooner or later, I go back to BG. I did like Fallout 2 and Arcanum, but I can't imagine playing through them again however. When I started playing them, I did "complete runs", doing all little side-quests etc. If I had to play them today, I'd probably run through the game in 2 hours. RPG indeed...
    Maybe I'm just getting old.

You've just described me. I'm not even able to finish SOD for that reason ...
    GenderNihilismGirdle
  • VbibbiVbibbi Member Posts: 229
    Fardragon said:

DAI must be a nightmare for a completionist, with it's masses of trivial sidequests.

Yup, I think that's one of my biggest criticisms of the game. Especially when said trivial sidequests are just looting X number of items, or reading a journal entry, killing an enemy, quest completed. Barely any human interaction and when it's there, it's just "Do X for me!" "Thank you for doing X for me!" Such a step down from most previous Bioware fetch quests.
    GenderNihilismGirdle
  • kanisathakanisatha Member Posts: 1,308
    Fardragon said:

DAI must be a nightmare for a completionist, with it's masses of trivial sidequests.

Heh. Yeah, try DA:I not only being a completionist but also a chronic restarter and a 'perfectionist' with respect to leveling up and equipping your entire cast of companions. I easily put over 200 hours into that game and truly surprised myself that I actually finished it.
    GenderNihilismGirdle
  • gorgonzolagorgonzola Member Posts: 3,864
    Anduin said: