Skip to content

Not sure if I'm bad or bugged

This is kind of an odd issue, but here goes: my characters can't seem to hit the broadside of a barn.

I'm new to this version of BG2EE (I played it right after it came out, but it seems to have changed dramatically) but I've played a lot of BG2 over the years, and something seems really weird.

I'm just out of the dungeon and tried going into the sewers, and I sat and watched Minsc swing a +2 two handed sword at a Rakshasa for *ages* and only do any damage when he got a critical hit. His THAC0 is 8, which isn't spectacular, but I don't remember seeing that kind of thing before.

It isn't confined to this one Rakshasa: in pretty much every fight I can think of (the first one in the windspear hills, and the random encounters traveling come to mind) nobody can hit anything and I've had to rely on spells to save the day.

I messed around with the difficulty slider when I was starting out and played through the dungeon at "Insane", but ended up going to "Normal" afterwards given how much trouble I was having, and it's still seems much more difficult.

I feel like a clueless newbie asking this, but I swear I've played through BG2 multiple times and don't remember getting clock cleaned like this before. Did something change?

Comments

• lunarlunar Member Posts: 3,460
    edited December 2016
    Rakshasas generaly have good ac, so you can miss even with a THAC0 of 8, and may require criticals to hit some harder foes.

Or if your characters are fatigued, they will not be able to hit anything easily. If they are fatigued a symbol of an orange-closed sleepy eye appears on portraits and they will complain that they want sleep and rest. Haste and restoration spells and long travels fatigue characters.